Collegiate celebration honors faculty excellence

Earlier this week, the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine recognized three categories of excellence among its faculty in a small event. The Celebration of Research, Scholarship, Teaching, and Service presented awards to Impact Scholars, new additions to the Wall of Scholarship, and the winners of the CCOM Faculty Awards.

Since the first year it began, publications from Internal Medicine faculty have been added to the Wall of Scholarship. Previous department inductees are recorded here. This honor is given to publications with more than 1,000 citations. Two new publications from E. Dale Abel, MD, PhD, and Daniel Diekema, MD, MS, will be added this year. Abel’s “Diabetic cardiomyopathy revisited” was published in 2007 in Circulation, and Diekema’s “Survey of infections due to Staphylococcus species…” was published in Clinical Infectious Diseases in 2001. A summary of those publications and the others added this year are here.

Impact Scholars demonstrate a career-long consistency with either more than 50 publications receiving 50 or more publications (Silver Level) or 100 publications above 100 citations (Gold Level). When the Impact Scholars wall was unveiled last year, 15 members of our department were announced as inaugural members. This year, Brian Link, MD, is among the seven Silver Level additions.

The final set of recognitions was reserved for the winners of the Faculty Awards organized by the CCOM Office of Faculty Affairs and Development. The Collegiate Teaching Award, the John P. Long Basic Science Teaching Award, the Faculty Service Award, and the Dr. Ernest O. Theilen Clinical Teaching and Service Award were all presented to their recipients. This year’s Theilen Award was presented to Christopher Goerdt, MD.

A full list of this year’s honorees is available here. Congratulations to this year’s winners!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *